New Feature: Give Admin and Leave Admin Users Read-only Access

Unlike many other payroll systems, SimplePay does not charge for or restrict the number of users on the system. This means that you can give system access to all the people that need it, whether this is a department head who approves leave, a payroll administrator who processes payroll or an external accountant who completes filing submissions. While our user settings already have a range of roles and restrictions that you can configure, we’ve had several requests for giving users read-only access to the system. 

We are delighted to announce that we’ve upgraded our permissions to enable you to give users read-only access, with extensive flexibility that lets you customise this on a company, pay frequency or pay point level. 

When adding a user, you can still select their permission role (e.g. Leave Admin) and restrict them to specific companies, pay frequencies or pay points. However, when restricting users with Admin or Leave Admin roles, you can select the type of access for each company, pay frequency or pay points, namely:

  • Full: gives the user full access to the areas of the system as defined by that particular role
  • Read-only: gives the user read-only access to the areas of the system as defined by that particular role
  • None: gives the user no access

For more information on setting up users with read-only access, refer to our help article here.

We hope that you love the new feature! Please reach out to us if you have any trouble setting up users or if you have any further questions.

Team SimplePay

New Roles and Permissions

Another exciting new feature has just gone live!

In response to requests from many clients, we have increased the number of roles that you can assign to users on the system, each of which has a different set of associated permissions that determines what the user can see and do on the system.

Previously, you were only able to restrict the access of users to certain companies / payment frequencies / pay points. You will now still be able to do this… and more! There are now three possible roles that you can assign to a user: Admin, Leave Admin and Approval Only.

All existing users on the system will, by default, be assigned the Admin role. Therefore, they will still be able to do exactly what they were able to do in the past. Additionally, any restrictions to companies / payment frequencies / pay points that you had previously put in place, will still be in effect.

The two new roles – Leave Admin and Approval Only – were designed to make your life easier and give you more flexibility. For example, you can assign the Leave Admin role to someone who only administers leave but should not have access to any salary information, or someone who should only be able to approve leave / info update requests, can be assigned the Approval Only role.

However, if you have no need for these new roles, you can ignore these changes and continue as you did before – with all users having the Admin role.

If you would like to read more about the new roles that we have introduced, you can click here. Additionally, you can find more general information about managing users by clicking here.

Please note: this new feature has necessitated some terminology changes on the system: previously, we used to talk about multiple “roles” that could be associated with an email address. However, now we will refer to multiple “users” being associated with that email address. More information about multiple users is available here.

As always, your feedback will be highly valued, especially since we are considering adding more roles in the future.

If you have any questions, you are welcome to email us at [email protected] to assist you.

The SimplePay Team