Happy new year! We hope that 2021 brings you new opportunities, improved performance and overall success in all your endeavours. As always, we’ll support you with an efficient and effective payroll system. We’re kicking off the new year with a brand new feature – you can now assign leave policies to employees in bulk.
SimplePay’s leave functionality allows you to set a company default leave policy for all employees that are added to the system. You can then assign a different leave policy to employees if they are not on the default policy. Being able to assign leave policies now in bulk saves you time if you have many employees who are not on the company default policy. It is also useful for companies who do not have a single company default policy, but rather separate policies per pay point or pay frequency.
Once you have created your leave policies, you can assign them in bulk as follows:
Go to Employees > Bulk Actions
Click on Entitlement Policies under the Leave heading
Use the filters to select only those employees that are part of a specific pay point or pay frequency
Use the drop-down menus to allocate the leave policies for each leave type for each employee on the page. If all employees on the page are on the same policy, use the Copy first value down option to save you time.
It’s as simple as that. For more information on leave management and bulk leave actions, refer to the following pages:
At SimplePay, we believe in continuous improvement and are therefore committed to refining and enhancing the system to better suit your needs. With that in mind, we have made tweaks to our leave functionality to improve the deleting of leave requests. We’d like to highlight some of these changes:
In addition to payroll administrators and leave admins, previously approved leave requests can now also be deleted by any leave approver that is part of the employee’s approval group.
Where the payslip for the period when the leave dates occurred is unfinalised, the leave request will immediately be deleted in its entirety when clicking on Delete.
Leave requests with leave dates that fall during a pay period with finalised payslips will result in the opening of a new screen when clicking on Delete. From this screen, you can
see which of the leave days cannot be deleted as they impact the pay on a finalised payslip, and which of them can be deleted;
directly open the payslip where the nett pay is impacted by the leave, if you have administrator rights in addition to being a leave approver;
opt to delete leave in its entirety (the default) or superficially*.
*The Retain these leave dates? checkbox is used to indicate whether leave should be deleted in its entirety or superficially. If you leave the option unchecked, the leave request will be deleted in its entirety (the leave request will be deleted, the leave days will be removed from the calendar and the leave days will be added back to the employee’s leave balance). If you select the checkbox, the leave request will be deleted superficially (only the actual request will be deleted, but the leave will remain recorded in the leave calendar and the leave balance will still take into account the leave days recorded).
You can read more about deleting leave on our help page here.
We hope these improvements provide more useful information and a more enjoyable user experience.
If you require any assistance, please reach out to our Support team here.
Introducing the latest system expansion from the SimplePay team: employee leave expiration for leave days carried over.
With our aim to give you the ultimate payroll experience, you can now customise your leave settings even further by specifying how long leave carried over from a previous leave cycle remains valid for. For example, you might have a policy that any unused leave from 2019 may carry over to 2020, but if it is not used by the end of June 2020, it will expire and be forfeited.
This is usually done to ensure that your employees’ leave does not excessively accumulate. In addition, by prompting employees to take their leave in due course, it leads to increased employee well-being which has long-term benefits for both employees and the company. Before implementing this on the system, ensure that it aligns with your company’s leave policy and your employees’ contracts to avoid any labour disputes.
To make use of this new feature
on current policies, follow these easy steps:
Go to Settings > Leave.
Click on View next to the leave type that you wish to edit.
Under Available Entitlement Policies, click on View next to the entitlement policy that you wish to edit.
If the Allow leave to be carried forward to next cycle? checkbox is set, there will now be an additional line that appears under it.
In the new field , enter the number of months that leave must be held for before expiring.
If you are creating a new leave policy, you will be able to follow the same process when creating the entitlement policy.
For more information on creating and editing leave entitlement policies, head over to our help page here.